Electronic Cigarette News

Maryland Call To Action

 Maryland Tobacco Tax Initiative

Link to SB631

Link to HB1153

These bills would:

Cause smokeless tobacco products to be taxed at 5-6 times the current tax (the Senate bill would increase tax to 70%, the House bill would tax it at 95%.)

Companion bills have been introduced to both the Senate (SB631) and the House of Representatives (HB1153). The Senate bill has been referred to the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee, and the House bill to the House Ways and Means Committee and House Health and Government Operations Committee. The Senate Budget and Taxation Committee will hold a public hearing on SB631 on Wednesday, March 7th at 1:00pm; the House Ways and Means Committee will hold a public hearing on HB1153 on Friday, March 9th at 1:00pm. Public testimony will be allowed from attendees wishing to speak. We strongly encourage local tobacco harm reduction advocates to attend these meetings. If you would like assistance with what to say, please contact us at board@casaa.org.

Please call, write or fax the members of the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee and the House Ways and Means Committee below.

(When writing to the Senate refer to SB2819, with the House refer to HB2557.)

1. Let them know that you oppose a tax increase on smokeless tobacco products.

2. Tell your story on how switching from cigarettes to a far less hazardous smoke-free tobacco product has changed your life.

 

 

 

3. Explain that the purpose of increasing cigarette tax rates was to reimburse state expenditures for treating the many diseases caused by cigarette smoking. Because smokeless tobacco products have been found to be around 99% less harmful than cigarettes, there is no justification for such an outrageously excessive tax, which would discourage smokers from switching to a less harmful alternative.

 

 

 

4. Because smokeless tobacco products are taxed at a much lower rate in neighboring states, many or most smokeless tobacco users in MD will travel a short distance to a neighboring state to buy tobacco, which will result in very little tax revenue increase for Maryland. Adjacent states include: PA (no smokeless tax), WV (7% of wholesale price), VA (10% of manufacturer’s price) and DE (15% of wholesale price).

 

 

 

5. Sharply increasing the smokeless tobacco tax rate also will encourage former smokers who had switched to using smokeless tobacco products to return to smoking.

 

 

 

6. Tell them that by switching to a smokeless product, you have greatly reduced your health risks.

 

 

 

7. Direct them to the CASAA.org website for more information.

 

 

Contact information

 

Senate Budget and Taxation Committee (B&T) – SB631

 

Comma delimited email list:

 

Edward.Kasemeyer@senate.state.md.us, Nathaniel.McFadden@senate.state.md.us, David.Brinkley@senate.state.md.us, Nancy.King@senate.state.md.us, Richard.Colburn@senate.state.md.us, Richard.Madaleno@senate.state.md.us, Roger.Manno@senate.state.md.us, James.DeGrange@senate.state.md.us, Douglas.Peters@senate.state.md.us, George.Edwards@senate.state.md.us, James.Robey@senate.state.md.us, Verna.Jones@senate.state.md.us

 

 

 

Semicolon delimited list:

 

Edward.Kasemeyer@senate.state.md.us; Nathaniel.McFadden@senate.state.md.us; David.Brinkley@senate.state.md.us; Nancy.King@senate.state.md.us; Richard.Colburn@senate.state.md.us; Richard.Madaleno@senate.state.md.us; Roger.Manno@senate.state.md.us; James.DeGrange@senate.state.md.us; Douglas.Peters@senate.state.md.us; George.Edwards@senate.state.md.us; James.Robey@senate.state.md.us; Verna.Jones@senate.state.md.us

 

 

 

3 West, Miller Senate Building, Annapolis, MD 21401

 

(410-841-3690 Annapolis/Baltimore or 301-858-3690 Washington, D.C.)

 

 

 

Chair: Edward J. Kasemeyer

 

Edward.Kasemeyer@senate.state.md.us

 

3 West Miller Senate Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3653 or 301-858-3653

 

 

 

Vice Chair: Nathaniel J. McFadden

 

Nathaniel.McFadden@senate.state.md.us

 

422 Miller Senate Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3165

 

 

 

David R. Brinkley

 

David.Brinkley@senate.state.md.us

 

420 James Senate Office Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3704 or 410-841-3704

 

 

 

Nancy J. King

 

Nancy.King@senate.state.md.us

 

222 James Senate Office Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3686

 

 

 

Richard F. Colburn

 

Richard.Colburn@senate.state.md.us

 

315 James Senate Office Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3590

 

 

 

Richard S. Madaleno, Jr.

 

Richard.Madaleno@senate.state.md.us

 

203 James Senate Office Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3137

 

 

 

Ulysses Currie

 

Ulysses.Currie@senate.state.md.us

 

201 James Senate Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3127

 

 

 

Roger P. Manno

 

Roger.Manno@senate.state.md.us

 

3 West Miller Senate Building

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3151

 

 

 

James E. DeGrange, Sr.

 

James.DeGrange@senate.state.md.us

 

101 James Senate Office Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3593 or 301-858-3593

 

 

 

Douglas J. J. Peters

 

Douglas.Peters@senate.state.md.us

 

121 James Senate Office Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3631

 

 

 

George C. Edwards

 

George.Edwards@senate.state.md.us

 

322 James Senate Office Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3565

 

 

 

James N. Robey

 

James.Robey@senate.state.md.us

 

120 James Senate Office Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3572 or 410-841-3572

 

 

 

Verna L. Jones-Rodwell

 

Verna.Jones@senate.state.md.us

 

420 Miller Senate Bldg.

 

11 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3612

 

 

 

House Ways and Means Committee (W&M) – HB1153

 

 

 

Room 131, House Office Building, Annapolis, MD 21401-1912

 

(410-841-3469 Annapolis/Baltimore or 301-858-3469 Washington, D.C.)

 

 

 

Comma delimited list:

 

Sheila.Hixson@house.state.md.us, Samuel.Rosenberg@house.state.md.us, Kathy.Afzali@house.state.md.us, Anne.Kaiser@house.state.md.us, Kumar.Barve@house.state.md.us, Eric.Luedtke@house.state.md.us, Joseph.Boteler@house.state.md.us, Aruna.Miller@house.state.md.us, Talmadge.Branch@house.state.md.us, LeRoy.Myers@house.state.md.us, Jon.Cardin@house.state.md.us, Justin.Ross@house.state.md.us, Andrew.Serafini@house.state.md.us, Bill.Frick@house.state.md.us, Melvin.Stukes@house.state.md.us, Ron.George@house.state.md.us, Michael.Summers@house.state.md.us, Glen.Glass@house.state.md.us, Frank.Turner@house.state.md.us, Carolyn.Howard@house.state.md.us, Jay.Walker@house.state.md.us, Jolene.Ivey@house.state.md.us

 

 

 

Semicolon delimited list:

 

Sheila.Hixson@house.state.md.us; Samuel.Rosenberg@house.state.md.us; Kathy.Afzali@house.state.md.us; Anne.Kaiser@house.state.md.us; Kumar.Barve@house.state.md.us; Eric.Luedtke@house.state.md.us; Joseph.Boteler@house.state.md.us; Aruna.Miller@house.state.md.us; Talmadge.Branch@house.state.md.us; LeRoy.Myers@house.state.md.us; Jon.Cardin@house.state.md.us; Justin.Ross@house.state.md.us; Andrew.Serafini@house.state.md.us; Bill.Frick@house.state.md.us; Melvin.Stukes@house.state.md.us; Ron.George@house.state.md.us; Michael.Summers@house.state.md.us; Glen.Glass@house.state.md.us; Frank.Turner@house.state.md.us; Carolyn.Howard@house.state.md.us; Jay.Walker@house.state.md.us; Jolene.Ivey@house.state.md.us

 

 

 

Chair: Sheila E. Hixson

 

Sheila.Hixson@house.state.md.us

 

131 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3469

 

 

 

Vice Chair: Samuel I. Rosenberg

 

Samuel.Rosenberg@house.state.md.us

 

131 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3297

 

 

 

Kathryn L. Afzali

 

Kathy.Afzali@house.state.md.us

 

319 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3800

 

 

 

Anne R. Kaiser

 

Anne.Kaiser@house.state.md.us

 

151 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3036

 

 

 

Kumar P. Barve

 

Kumar.Barve@house.state.md.us

 

361 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3464

 

 

 

Eric G. Luedtke

 

Eric.Luedtke@house.state.md.us

 

222 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3110 or 301-858-3110

 

 

 

Joseph C. Boteler III

 

Joseph.Boteler@house.state.md.us

 

326 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3365

 

 

 

Aruna Miller

 

Aruna.Miller@house.state.md.us

 

225 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3090

 

 

 

Talmadge Branch

 

Talmadge.Branch@house.state.md.us

 

151 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3398

 

 

 

LeRoy E. Myers, Jr.

 

LeRoy.Myers@house.state.md.us

 

215 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3321

 

 

 

Jon S. Cardin

 

Jon.Cardin@house.state.md.us

 

304 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3833

 

 

 

Justin D. Ross

 

Justin.Ross@house.state.md.us

 

151 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3652

 

 

 

Mark N. Fisher

 

Mark.Fisher@house.state.md.us

 

151 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3652

 

 

 

Andrew A. Serafini

 

Andrew.Serafini@house.state.md.us

 

215 House Office Building

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3447

 

 

 

C. William Frick

 

Bill.Frick@house.state.md.us

 

219 House Office Building

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3454

 

 

 

Melvin L. Stukes

 

Melvin.Stukes@house.state.md.us

 

412 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3544

 

 

 

Ron George

 

Ron.George@house.state.md.us

 

163 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3439 or 301-858-3439

 

 

 

Michael Summers

 

Michael.Summers@house.state.md.us

 

203 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3340

 

 

 

Glen Glass

 

Glen.Glass@house.state.md.us

 

325 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3257

 

 

 

Frank S. Turner

 

Frank.Turner@house.state.md.us

 

206 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

410-841-3246 or 401-841-3246

 

 

 

Carolyn J. B. Howard

 

Carolyn.Howard@house.state.md.us

 

301 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3919

 

 

 

Jay Walker

 

Jay.Walker@house.state.md.us

 

204 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3581

 

 

 

Jolene Ivey

 

Jolene.Ivey@house.state.md.us

 

207 House Office Bldg.

 

6 Bladen Street

 

Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

 

301-858-3478

 

Source: http://www.casaa.org/CTA/article.asp?articleID=236


Tags

About the author

Blake Brown

Blake is the owner and creator of the Guide To Vaping blog. He has expressed his passion for the vaping industry through his deeply rooted and highly informative content. Being a writer and content provider for the vaping industry for year's, Blake has also gained experience from working with multiple blogs and well respected companies.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply


Seduce Juice
Highbrow Vapor
Smoque
Vapor Authority

Newsletter

Subscribe to the Guide To Vaping Newsletter for the latest vaping news, reviews, and information. Be the first to receive our exclusive deals and giveaways!

VaporFi Free E-Liquid

VaporFi Free E-Liquid